Excerpt: A Narrative of a Revolutionary Soldier

The troops were stiled new levies, they were to go to New-York; and notwithstanding I was told that the British army at that place was reinforced by fifteen thousand men, it made no alteration in my mind; I did not care if there had been fifteen times fifteen thousand, I should have gone just as soon as if there had been but fifteen hundred. I never spent a thought about numbers, the Americans were invincible, in my opinion. If any thing affected me, it was a stronger desire to see them. p. 16

Ah, the courage of youth, backed with conviction and supplemented by a desire to be the equal of his peers, to say nothing of his yearning to get away from home.

One thought on “Excerpt: A Narrative of a Revolutionary Soldier

Leave a Reply

