Prediction: President Obama announces NSA panel on…

If you caught my article about President Obama’s picks for the NSA review panel somewhere in the last 24 hours, or if you’ve spotted other posts on the subject elsewhere (a mixed bag, that), you might have noticed that the whole messy story is predicated on an unnamed source/single source blog post from ABC News.  A quick review of a great many websites today has yet to reveal a single confirmation.  By all means, please correct me if I’m mistaken.

Even stranger is the occasional silence surrounding the story.  Who has had nothing to say (that I could find)?

CBS
NBC
CNN
Rush Limbaugh
Rachel Maddow
Glenn Beck
Chris Matthews
Drudge Report
Chris Hayes

Surely that motley crew can’t be in cahoots, right?

Who else has been silent?  President Obama, as far as I can tell.  ABC’s Levine indicated the announcement would come today.  Today came and went with nary a word from the White House.  Again, correct me if I missed the announcement for which I searched high and low.  Now, why might we be waiting with baited breath for the real deal?  Well, Obama, savvy political chess player that he is, has a well-developed habit of making unsavory announcements on Friday, so that we can all get distracted with all things weekend.  Surely he’ll make his announcement tomorrow, right?

No, I don’t think so.  I could be wrong (like that would be a first!), but there’s another Friday coming up that would be absolutely ideal, being both really, really close to today and leading right into a lovely three day vacation weekend of barbecues and a dire lack of giving shits.  Naturally, I mean Labor Day.

Prediction: President Obama will announce the composition of his all insider outsider panel on August 30.  Don’t worry, right as Cass Sunstein gets his uber-creepy day in the sun, we’ll be distracted from giving shits once again by something truly momentous like a drunken celebrity, or maybe even pictures of cats.

Who needs that annoying fourth amendment, anyway?

—-

Image credit: Spixey @ flikr.com.  Licensed under Creative Commons.

